Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 3) - The Word is - "Lucidity" | Takin' Mines
tweet  |  share
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 3) – The Word is – “Lucidity”
By  |  07.13.2012  | 
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
EditorialEditorial  |  tweet  |  share  |  tumblr

It’s that time again. My picks for the week were really tough as their were so many to choose from. It was a great week for hip hop. Shout out to UK emcee Shystie who dropped a hot track with Azealea Banks this week and has been blowing up Twitter. Wouldn’t be right not to mention it. Gotta show the UK love. Also Mike GLC‘s jawn “Famous” deserves an honourable mention too.


Well, here are my chosen five. I hope you hear something you like that you haven’t already heard…


1) ScienZe (feat. Britain Parker) – “Pray/Tell”



Yesterday NY rapper ScienZe dropped “Pray/Tell”, intro to his upcoming project which is due for release sometime in the near future (although an exact date hasn’t yet been disclosed). Britain Parker provides his mellow vocals “Pray/Tell” and fellow emcee Sene lends his talents to production on this joint along with Sly5thAve. This intro is uber chill.


2) Sean Born (feat. Kaimbr) – “DrugsAlcoholSex”



The title of Sean Born’s new single is pretty self explanatory. He’s keeping it real. It’s all about the drugs, the alcohol and the sex. Taken off album Behind the Scale, “D.A.S” is not one those “I’m sorry. I’m not gonna do it anymore, all that sh*t’s behind me” type tracks. This is a “Yeah. I do all that sh*t. So the phuck what?!” type of ditties. It beez like dat sometimes. I respect the honesty in this joint. We can’t all be saints. I’ll respect a person who puts their hands up to their ills before I respect a person who gives the illusion of ‘wholesomeness’ and lives the opposite. Def list worthy.


3) Lyriciss – “My Life”



DMV artist Lyriciss dropped glittering gem “My Life” (a reworking of soul legend, Roy Ayers’ hit “Sunshine”). The vocals at the beginning of this song made my heart start racing. Who is she?! She’s fire. I dig everything about this joint. The SlimKat78 produced beat is oh so soulful. Did I mention the singer? Yeah…she’s dope. Lyriciss lives up to his name and lays down some seriously lyrics on this. “My Life” will be on repeat status for me for a least a week. Favourite track of the week.


4) DB Tha General & DaVinci – “Know About Us”


Directed by: Tim Jieh


Hot new joint from Cali rappers DB Tha General and DaVinci. Not my usual steez but sometimes I just wanna listen to something to nod my head to. This SMKA produced joint is my ‘headbanger of the week’Made me wanna get my Waka Flocka on and shake my dreads. First official vid off new Darkest Before Dawn EP, due to drop anytime soon.


5) Fla$h – AudioFixUK (Freestyle)



Fla$h treats us to a freestyle via AudioFix UK. It blows my mind whenever I hear somebody from the UK drop the N-Bomb. Makes me feel old and I’m still in my 20’s. It wasn’t like that when I was a teen. Regardless, a pretty decent offering. Fla$h reppin’ the UK nicely.


Tags: , , , , , ,
Comments: (0)
Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK
My Defense Intense
Nov 24, 2017
SevenYe (EP)
Dec 25, 2015