Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 20) – The Word Of The Week Is – "Thanksgiving" | Takin' Mines
tweet  |  share
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 20) – The Word Of The Week Is – “Thanksgiving”
By  |  11.25.2012  | 
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
EditorialEditorial  |  tweet  |  share  |  tumblr

Given the turkeys we all feasted upon this past week, it’s only right that this week’s post rant shows a little gratitude to the things us hip-hop heads often overlook. We’re thankful for Danny Brown’s stories (this one is just the best); the decline of “YOLO” (thank God); SoundCloud, Audio Mack and other good quality music sharing sites which keeps this engine we call music running; independent talents-turned-mega music superstars like Kendrick Lamar and Frank Ocean; and the frequency of old school legends teaming up with some of the new school’s finest. Just take our first pick of this week’s best-releases-you-might-have-missed below:


1) Rah Digga (feat. Fashawn & REKS) – “Never Back Down” (prod. by M-Phazes)



Ourselves here at Diamond Media 360 blessed the world with a pre-holidays track this week. “Never Back Down” marries legendary female MC Rah Digga with SoCal hot spitter Fashawn and the zero bullshit MC from Beantown, REKS, over a truly in-your-grill M-Phazes instrumental. Because the beat was too damn good for just one go-around, Nitty Scott, MC hopped on the track with Rah for the remix version, which you can blast out the speakers over on Coalmine Records aka the mothership. Both cuts are available to buy on the iTunes Store.


2) The Game (feat. Bone Thugs-N-Harmony) – “Celebration (Remix)”


Directed by: Taydoe Kidd


Given its initially warm response, it’s no surprise that The Game decided to give his Bone Thugs-N-Harmony-helped “Celebration” remix its own music video this week. While Matt Alonzo’s original film depicted Jayceon and his cohorts living it up in the beating sun in the company of delicious food and even more delectable females, Taydoe Kidd’s reinterpretation is a much more down-to-earth affair, seeing the Compton MC and the Cleveland legends mean mugging in a dark alley. You can always trust Krayzie Bone and co. to inject some real hip-hop sensibilities back into the game.


3) Fabolous (feat. J. Cole) – “Louis Vuitton”



We get it, Thanksgiving is more about digging into good food and spending time with the family (don’t forget the football!), but there isn’t a lot of material things to enjoy. Fabolous made ammends by gifting The S.O.U.L. Tape 2, and boy, was it packed with treats. Just take the rich, mellow “Louis Vuitton” above. It’s the first exclusive collaboration between Loso and Cole.


4) Captain Murphy – Duality



Since nabbing a feature on Flying Lotus’ “Between Friends” alongside Earl Sweatshirt back in the summer, Captain Murphy has been hip-hop’s true man of mystery (sorry, DOOM). We’re still lost for ideas about who the faceless MC is exactly, but we do know that he released his first-ever project, Duality, this past week–and we’re 100% sure that it’s dope. What’s more, the eery, sample-heavy tracks came complete with footage that ranges from cult speeches to hardcore sex scenes. So yeah, avoid watching this one at work.


5) Jabee – “King’s Speech” (prod. by Thelonious Martin)



The fifth and final release that might have evaded you this week also comes via a mixtape. OKC talent Jabee (who nabbed El-P for his “Stephanie” single back in September) and production wunderkid taking Chicago–and the game as a whole–by storm, Thelonious Martin, fused their talents to produce one super-dope project in As It Is In Heaven. It only clocks in at eight tracks, but I assure you each one could have made the draft here. It’s the way-too-soulful bonus cut, “King’s Speech,” that gets the nod, though.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Comments: (0)
Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK