Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 22) – The Word Of The Week Is – "Relaxation" | Takin' Mines
tweet  |  share
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 22) – The Word Of The Week Is – “Relaxation”
By  |  12.09.2012  | 
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
EditorialEditorial  |  tweet  |  share  |  tumblr

As you wind down this Sabbath, likely indulging in one of your vices (“legally… and illegally”) while the NFL action serves as company, Takin’ Mines has got you covered with the quality music you might have missed out on this past week (because we wouldn’t want you doing the hard work with that fine glass and/or blunt on offer now, would we?). The week ahead has plenty of exiting releases to fill your Christmas stocking, but for now, enjoy audio and visuals alike from Masta Killa, Casey Veggies, Vado, Warm Brew and Soul Khan below.


1) Masta Killa – “Food” (prod. by 9th Wonder)



As if the first single, “R U Listening,” didn’t warm the soul something nice, Masta Killa’s second sample of his forthcoming solo LP, Selling My Soul, was enough to melt even the most hardened of Wu-Tang-weathered hearts. “Food” hears the Wu Gambino lace an always-sublime 9th Wonder beat with those infectiously lackadaisical lines, upping the excitement for December 11 when his album arrives.


2) Casey Veggies – “Sauna” (prod. by Chuck Inglish)


Directed by: Spaghetto


Casey Veggies has spent the best part of the last few weeks on Twitter teasing us with it-bits about his next project, but this week, he averted attention to Fool’s Gold’s end-of-year compilation, Loosies, starring in the video to his and Chuck Inglish’s collaboration, “Sauna.” No prizes for guessing the direction of this short film; the young West Coaster opens up his pores to the soundtrack of Mr. Inglish’s ethereal bounce. Loosies drops December 18.


3) Vado – “The Awards” (prod. by araabMUZIK)



Having produced a good chunk of Cam’ron and Vado’s 2011 collab LP, Gunz n’ Butta, it’s no surprise that araabMUZIK and the Harlem hot spitter continue to log hours in the studio together. The latest product of their partnership came this week in the form of “The Awards,” a mean, electro-jilted monster which looks to land on Vado’s upcoming Slime Flu 3 tape (out this Tuesday).


4) Warm Brew – “Hear Ya Say”



West Coast trio Warm Brew helped ease the freezing cold temperatures this week by visually reworking their summery “Hear Ya Say” song, taken from their recent Sippin’ All Day Last Night EP. The video makes us miss those sunny days a little bit more.


5) Soul Khan (feat. Akie Bermiss) – “The Machine”



One of Brown Bag AllStars’ more prolific MCs (not to mention one of Twitter’s funniest follows), Soul Khan, blessed us with another beauty off his Psalm EP, which goes on sale December 11 (seriously, this Tuesday is going to be a lottery for quality new music). Over a dreamy Abnormal beat, Soul and Akie Bermiss address the issue that’s secretly on all of our minds: Future generations’ troubles caused from today’s technology-bent society.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Comments: (0)
Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK
My Defense Intense
Nov 24, 2017
SevenYe (EP)
Dec 25, 2015