Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 42) – The Word Of The Week Is – "Anticipation" | Takin' Mines
tweet  |  share
Heroes & Super Villains (Week 42) – The Word Of The Week Is – “Anticipation”
By  |  04.28.2013  | 
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
EditorialEditorial  |  tweet  |  share  |  tumblr

Is there a week in the year in which we don’t have something ridiculously awesome to look forward to? These past seven days have been no exception. It seemed like albums and performances — two of the best mediums of music — prompted the most excitement this week.


Joey Bada$$ announced the title of his debut; Flying Lotus announced he’s currently working on a Jazz record; Frank Ocean cited The Beach Boys and The Beatles as inspirations for his channel ORANGE follow-up, while Big Sean was spotted in the studio with Em and Royce, presumably cooking up something real tasty for that Hall of Fame album of his.


Meanwhile, Kendrick Lamar, A$AP Rocky, Wiz Khalifa, B.o.B, Trinidad Jame$ and Pro Era are to to embark on tours later this year; Kendrick on his worldwide good kid, m.A.A.d city roadshow next month, and the latter five on the Under the Influence tour this summer. Oh, and Kanye Motherfucking West will be performing live on SNL on May 18, hopefully with a new single in toe.


While that’s plenty to look forward to, this week wasn’t dry on dope tracks, either. So, like always, we picked our five favorite audio and visual releases you might have missed — this time from Quasimoto (aka Madlib), Metasota, Sheek Louch and Ghostface, Mike Milan and Koncept, Tanya Morgan and Audible Doctor.


1) Quasimoto – “Planned Attack”



After eight long years, Madlib unearthed his rapping alter-ego, Quasimoto, to bless the world with “Planned Attack.” It’s off the newly announced Yessir Whatever compilation album, out June 18 via Stones Throw


2) Metasota – “Force Fed”


Directed by: Myke Shevy


Before he rocks Soundset Hip Hop Festival presented by Rhymesayers Entertainment next month, Minnesota rapper Metasota (get it?) reminds everyone about his Still Happy I’m Present (H.I.P. 2) project with some sick new visuals.


3) Sheek Louch & Ghostface Killah – “Young, Gifted & Black (Freestyle)”



D-Block take two. Sheek and Ghostface give Big Daddy Kane’s “Young, Gifted & Black” instrumental new flavor. Apparently, it was intended for Funk Flex‘s mixtape.


4) Mike Milan – “Love Again”


Directed by: Directed by BLUEL


“Love Again” is my first encounter with Mike Milan‘s music, but rest assured he left a good first impression. This ain’t your typical effort from a New York artist, but he blends pretty decent pop sensibilities with a keen eye for aesthetics into one promising package. If you like what you hear, look for Mike’s Youth project coming soon.


5) Koncept (feat. Tanya Morgan) – “Space Mountain” (Audible Doctor Remix)



Brown Bag AllStars meet Tanya Morgan (again) on Audible Doctor‘s ill remake of Koncept‘s “Space Mountain,” off his new Malt Disney EP.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Comments: (0)
Post Your Comment
We will never send yoiu spam or publish or share your email information.

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK
My Defense Intense
Nov 24, 2017
SevenYe (EP)
Dec 25, 2015