Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
- Part 2
tweet  |  share
By   |  12 July 2013 10:04 am  |  
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Reviews Reviews

Having marinated on Joey Bada$$’s Summer Knights mixtape for nearly eleven days, since it was birthed into cyberspace on July 1st, I’m pleased to present you with my review for the Pro Era frontman’s follow-up to the internet classic 1999.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,
By   |  12 June 2013 10:00 am  |  Reviews Reviews

On Kilt 2, Iamsu! exemplifies the old adage that many hands make light work. Start to finish, Kilt 2 embraces both musicality and crisp lyrical delivery in equal measure, taking the best of each contributor’s expertise and melding these forces into one very enjoyable experience. Hit the jump for our full review – Spotify album stream inlcuded.


Tags: , ,
By   |  24 May 2013 18:52 pm  |  Audio Audio

Producer Hank Iving fuses his adept beat making skills with samples from the sounds of the late Chicago native and big bang era singer, Anita O’Day, off her Incomperable! LP, released in 1964. Titled Colton x Confar: Incomparable, Iving successfully arranges a diverse set of eight songs, ranging from pensive to melodic to dreamy to percussive, each more enjoyable than the last. Further, unselfish Iving encourages other artists to use the beats for their own mixtapes. The best things in life may indeed be free. That said, stream track #7, “Easy Come” below and hit the jump for the audio stream, courtesy of AudioMack.


Track #7: Hank Iving – “Easy Come”


Tags: , , ,
By   |  8 May 2013 13:49 pm  |  Reviews Reviews

The Brooklyn native’s fifth solo studio album, Prisoner of Conscious, is a 17 track masterpiece that straps you in and doesn’t stop from start to finish. Perhaps it’s his personal and very human connection to the subject matter. Kweli expressed to Billboard. Well, the proof is in the pudding; Kweli uses these themes to hook into the common threads running deep through all of us. Check out the rest of our review for Kweli’s latest effort after the jump – Spotify album stream included.


I feel like when people talk about real life emotions and real life feelings they resonate longer, longer than rappers who talk about gangsterism, sex and violence and longer than rappers who just talk about Hip-Hop, how real they are how and how underground they are. I wanted to make an album that really spoke to the lives that people are living.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
By   |  21 April 2013 11:00 am  |  Reviews Reviews

Character concept albums are all the rap rage these days (Smoke DZA’s Rugby Thompson and The Alchemist’s Russian Roulette, to name just a couple reviewed here), and Wu-Tang alum Ghostface Killah does the same, basing Twelve Reasons to Die on a comic book of the same name. Dropped April 16, 2013, Ghostface’s tenth studio album is nothing short of symphonic. Hit the jump for the full review and album stream, courtesy of Spotify.


Tags: , ,

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK
My Defense Intense
Nov 24, 2017
SevenYe (EP)
Dec 25, 2015