Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Stones Throw | Takin' Mines
tweet  |  share
By   |  2 October 2013 18:00 pm  |  
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h02/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Video Video

Watch as Homeboy Sandman raps faster than the speed of light in his latest video, “Men Are Mortal”.


Tags: ,
By   |  8 May 2013 19:38 pm  |  Editorial Editorial

Comprised of members Madlib, Wildchild and DJ Romes, the Lootpack, established themselves as one of the more exciting groups to emerge from the Cali’s burgeoning Hip-Hop renaissance of the late 90s. Preceding the release of their 1999 released debut album, Soundpieces: Da Antidote, the trifecta released a three song maxi-single on vinyl, which includes both “The Anthem,” and “Likwit Fusion,” featuring both Defari and The Liks (as featured on the LP), along with the non-album cut “Lost Art.” Although this was technically not their debut on wax, after previously releasing Ill Psych Move EP via Crate Digga’s palace, courtesy of Madlib’s father, Otis Jackson, “The Anthem” maxi-single should stick out in any crate diggers collection as one of the more potent 12-inches to emerge from a rather inundated and successful time for vinyl. With all three songs on the A-side, followed by their instrumentals on the B-side, there was not a weak link among any of the featured tracks. That said, give “The Anthem” a whirl below, and hit the jump to give the remaining tracks a listen, while we rewind and pay homage to one of ’98’s most coveted maxi-singles to make it to acetate.



You be actin’ like an Amazon when the camera’s on, but when the camera’s off, you be actin’ soft…


Tags: , , , ,

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK
My Defense Intense
Nov 24, 2017
SevenYe (EP)
Dec 25, 2015