Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1047 and defined in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
The Roots | Takin' Mines
tweet  |  share
By   |  11 August 2013 11:54 am  |  
Warning: Missing argument 2 for wpdb::prepare(), called in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-content/plugins/category-icons/category_icons.php on line 1338 and defined in /nfs/c05/h01/mnt/83285/domains/takinmines.diamondmedia360.com/html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1247
Video Video

Earl Sweatshirt recently performed on Jimmy Fallon, making his solo network TV debut. Check out his honest, breathtaking performance after the jump…


Grandma’s passin, but I’m too busy tryna get this fuckin’ album cracking too see her/ So I apologize in advance if anything should happen…


Tags: , , ,
By   |  24 July 2013 14:45 pm  |  Video Video

Elvis Costello and The Roots come through with a lush and captivating track that doesn’t deserve to be missed. Check out the simple visuals for “Walk Us Uptown” after the jump…

Tags: ,
By   |  4 October 2012 20:12 pm  |  Audio Audio

Acclaimed jazz musician Robert Glasper’s 2012 LP, Black Radio, is currently undergoing a musical makeover. As part of the Black Radio Recovered: The Remix EP, six of his album cuts have been remade by hip-hop/soul peers like 9th Wonder, Pete Rock and ?uestlove – whose “Twice Baked” remix of Glasper’s cover of Little Dragon’s “Twice” (not included on said LP, but recorded during the sessions) has arrived online today. The rich refix also features contributions from Solange Knowles and his Roots counterparts, and can be streamed below. The Black Radio Recovered: The Remix EP is due out October 9 via Blue Note Records.



Tags: , , ,

Greg Grease – “Forward”



If you’ve managed to get this far during the week, you probably deserve a break. And what good timing to introduce Greg Grease‘s latest video for “Forward”, a stripped down, less-is-more banger that doesn’t need to be overdramatic to get it’s point across. Directed by Adam Dunn as a part of his #LABB (Lights and a Backdrop) series, the visuals are as minimalistic as it gets, allowing the Grease, his DJ and his turntable to play centre stage. Check it out and be sure to pick up Greg Grease’s Black King Cole EP if you don’t already own it.


  1. Blu & Nottz (feat. Rashad) – “End of the World”
  2. CJ Fly (feat. A La $oul & Phife Dawg) – “Seek Well”
  3. Boldy James (feat. Earl Sweatshirt, Da$h & Domo Genesis) – “Reform School” (prod. by The Alchemist)
  4. Danny Brown (feat. Scrufizzer) – “Dubstep”
  5. Black Milk – “Dismal”
  6. Alterbeats (feat. Guilty Simpson & The Rockness Monstah) – “Fruit Punch”
  7. Snow Tha Product (feat. CyHi The Prynce) – “Hold You Down”
  8. Freddie Gibbs & Madlib – “Harold’s”
  9. Childish Gambino – “Yaphet Kotto”
  10. Stan Ipcus – “Wifey Material”
Basic CMYK